Ships of the Desert

Camels…

 Although they are usually placid and gentle, camels have a reputation for being cranky and hard to get on with, and they’ve been known to spit when they’re unhappy. I was certain this one was going to take a bite out of my leg at any time.

Camels are very large and very bony, but also very resilient. They are able to travel long distances and carry heavy loads. These ones seemed happy to carry tourists up and down the dunes hour after hour.

Camels usually have one calf at a time and mother and child will stay together for up to five years.  This newborn was keeping close to his mother’s side.

                                                                                                                                                                  But this camel had the best deal – a free ride and a great view… and loving it!

11 thoughts on “Ships of the Desert

  1. The camel in the first photo has a cute smile!
    Thank you for visiting my blog earlier and the link to the castle in Scotland. Wow, it’s very grand and pretty spectacular. I can imagine staying there being an amazing experience. I’ll have to keep it on file in case we get the chance one day.
    x

  2. Hi Carol,
    The camel in the first shot has a really cute smile!
    Thank you for visiting my blog earlier and for the link to the Scottish castle. It’s pretty spectacular. I’ll have to keep it on file in case we get the chance to stay one day.
    x

  3. Hi Beth,
    From where I was sitting that cute smile was more like a “that’s a tasty looking thigh” smile! I have actually been visiting your blog for a long time but never commented before. I’m following now… I enjoy your writing and photos.

  4. Loved the camel photos! They have such aloof personalities which shows in their “smile”! You looked like an experienced camel rider 🙂 Your blog continues to make me feel like I’ve been there with you.

    Helen

Please share your thoughts

