Weekly Photo Challenge ~ Family

DSCN1545

Australian magpies are creatures of habit. They live in family groups and will inhabit the same area for years. On their regular morning walks, magpies will follow the same route day after day, stopping now and then to scratch around for a tasty morsel.

DSCN1540

This magpie mother and her half-grown chick were on their daily walk in a local park and Baby didn’t wander too far from Mum…

DSCN1535until he found his wings and took flight.

DSCN1547

“Look at me!” he seemed to be calling. “Look how clever I am!”

DSCN1548

15 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge ~ Family

    • Australian magpies are gorgeous characters and have the most beautiful song. In Spring however, during nesting season, they become very protective and aggressive and swoop unwitting walkers and cyclists. It’s like Jekyll and Hyde!

  1. Australian magpies are such pretty birds, Carol, and knowing how hard it is to capture birds in general, these are great captures. It sounds like they become in spring like the birds from the Alfred Hitchcock movie, “The Birds!” I don’t think I’d appreciate being attacked by them. πŸ™‚

  2. These are great pics – it’s difficult to get shots of birds (well, for me it’s difficult because they always fly away at the crucial moment!)

    I remember when I told my hubby years ago about magpies (he’s from Cairns so he thought magpies were just those cute little peewee birds). We went to Canberra and he was stunned when he saw them and got his first ‘swoop’! They’re lovely birds but you don’t want to be caught in a spot near their nests πŸ˜‰

  3. Mum looks a bit worried about baby’s antics! We have problems with over protective nesting magpies in some areas of NZ. One person wrote to the newspaper about the problem and said that, from her experience in Australia, the problem would go away if you looked the bird in the eye and greeted it and talked to it. Mmmmm…I wonder?

  4. Your Australian magpies seem like great characters. I’m afraid I’m not keen on our UK magpies – they are very loud, and their screeching and squawking is harsh and not at all tuneful. Although we get quite a lot in our garden, I’ve never seen a young one, so I am going to look carefully this spring and see what I can spot.

Please share your thoughts

