The Essence of Summer

There are more than 700 species of Eucalyptus and almost all are native to Australia. Commonly known as gum trees because of the sap that oozes from any breaches in the bark, they grow almost everywhere, from the inland deserts to the alpine areas of the southern states.

The flower of a eucalypt is not composed of petals. Instead, a large number of long feathery stamens are held together by a colourful operculum. As the stamens dry and fall away from the clusters of blossoms, seeds form in the opercula which dry and become hard – we call them gum nuts.

When the gum trees are flowering, we know summer has begun.

P1080579

 

Visit Judes’ Garden Challenge to see more of the Essence of Summer

38 thoughts on “The Essence of Summer

  1. I think eucalyptus are my favorite trees !! I love the smell, the bark, the shape of the leaves. An eucalyptus forest is pure magic to me. Thanks for the info on the flowers…. I have not seen them ever nor did I know that there were so many species!! And those are just the ones native to Australia. Man I am definitely missing out.

    I love the puffy red flower that looks like a mini lantern!

    Peta

  2. I haven’t seen eucalyptus flowers before – they are stunning! In one house we lived in we had a eucalyptus tree in the garden (I have no idea which species it was) and I liked its grey/green/blue leaves but I don’t remember there ever being a flower on it.

Please share your thoughts

