Tag Archive | gold panning

Gold Fever

An Australian Point of View #3 Sovereign Hill

On the main street of Ballarat there’s a memorial commemorating the centenary of the discovery of gold in 1851. It is dedicated to the miners who toiled on the gold fields and has a replica of the second largest gold nugget ever found. The Welcome Nugget, weighing almost 70 kg and worth £10,500 at the time, was discovered at Bakery Hill in 1858.

More than 25,000 people flocked to the gold fields in western Victoria. Miners with hopes of riches came from around the world and others, who saw the money-making opportunities, provided the goods and services the miners needed. Another life-size replica, even bigger than that massive nugget, allows 21st century visitors to travel back in time to experience life on the gold fields in the 1850s.

Sovereign Hill is one of Australia’s most visited tourist attractions. History comes alive at the open-air museum located on the site of original gold workings.


Cobb & Co coaches once carried passengers and parcels of gold from Ballarat to Melbourne. At Sovereign Hill, teams of Clydesdales pull handcrafted replica coaches and drays through the streets.


On Main Street the grocer, apothecary and drapers sell traditional wares. A popular store is the confectionery, where raspberry drops, toffee apples and humbugs gleam like crystals on the shelves.

There are two hotels, a theatre and a school where today’s students can dress up in knickerbockers and braces, bonnets and pinafores for an 1850s school day. Those who work at Sovereign Hill dress up too; the streets are filled with redcoated soldiers, demure ladies and policemen ready to check for mining licences.

Closer to the gold mine, the blacksmith turns out horseshoes and mining tools. A boiler attendant works around the clock to keep up a constant supply of steam for the mine engines. At the smelting works, a three kilogram gold bar worth $100,000 is melted in the furnace before being poured into a mould to take shape again.


Down in Red Hill Gully, calico tents and bark huts like those the first miners lived in dot the hillside, and a makeshift store sells the necessary fossicking tools.



Modern treasure hunters pan for alluvial gold and, if they’re lucky enough to find some, they can take it home.


Like most of those hopeful miners of the 1850s, they won’t be retiring on their earnings!

Join Jo for more Monday Walks

Take the High Road Part 2

After descending the hair raising Zigzag there are more choices to be made. Continue on State Highway 6 and Queenstown will be your destination. Take a right hand turn off the highway and find yourself transported back to another time in Arrowtown.

DSCN5621

Situated on the banks of the Arrow River, Arrowtown was founded in 1862 during the Otago gold rush. The population reached more than 7000 at its peak and hotels, churches and homes were built to accommodate those who came looking for riches. The historic buildings along Buckingham Street are now protected by a covenant preserving the old time appearance of the town like a living museum.

DSCN5620

DSCN5601

An avenue of trees was planted along Buckingham Street in 1867 in an effort to create the feeling of an English village. These same trees shelter the cottages along the street today.

DSCN5643

Five minutes’ walk from Buckingham Street is St Patrick’s Church. In the Church grounds stands a small miner’s cottage, unremarkable except for the fact that Mary MacKillop, now known as St Mary of the Cross – Australian’s first saint, lived there for several months in 1897 while The Sisters of St Joseph of the Sacred Heart established a school and convent.

DSCN5637

You can pan for gold in the swiftly flowing waters of the Arrow River just as 1500 miners did more than 100 years ago, or simply sit on the river bank and enjoy the serenity.

DSCN5630

Just remember, at the end of the day, you will need to drive up the Zigzag again!