Taking Flight

Round Australia Road Trip #6

One of the iconic tourist adventures of the Kimberleys is a scenic flight over the area’s best known attractions, both natural and man-made. There are flights by helicopter, light plane and float plane and many itineraries from which to choose.

P1060334

We’ll follow the red route, spending two and a half hours enjoying a bird’s eye view of the East Kimberleys in a Cessna 210 with just enough room for the pilot and four passengers.

P1060333

Buckle your seat belts and come with me on a joyride with a difference!

Our flight takes us up over the tiny town of Kununurra, built in 1960 to house the workers who constructed the Ord River dam wall,

P1060278

along the full length of Lake Argyle – nearly 80 km,

P1060288

south to the Bungle Bungles,Β  striped sandstone domes more than 350 million years old,

P1060307

P1110212

along Cathedral Gorge, its sheerΒ  sandstone cliffs towering more than 200 metres,

P1060320

over the Argyle Diamond Mine, where the famed pink Argyle diamonds are found,

P1060323

past the red sandstone cliffs of the Cockburn Ranges

P1110242

and on to the vast coastal plains where five rivers, the King, Forrest, Durack, Pentecost and Ord, all flow into Cambridge Gulf,

P1110254

P1110250

over the tiny port town of Wyndham, the most northerly town in Western Australia

P1110256

before returning to Kununurra over the fertile fields of the Ord irrigation area where sandalwood and chia crops are grown.

P1060327

Thank you for flying with me today. I hope you enjoyed your flight!

 

25 thoughts on “Taking Flight

  1. Squeeze up and make room for a little un’ – I will try not to get sick πŸ˜‰
    The Bungle Bungles are one place in Oz that I’d really like to visit – the name, the age, the shape of those mounds – but having looked up the tours into the region they are not cheap.

    • The distance makes the cost rise and even doing it ourselves isn’t cheap. The cost of petrol and caravan parks rises the further west we go. It was well worth the effort though and my next post will be all about our visit to the Bungle Bungles so you can come visiting with me!

      As for getting sick, the lady who was sitting next to me wasn’t feeling too well and I felt a little queer by the end too. I was glad to be on the ground again.

      • Mmm… I have only ever flown once in a 6 seater Cessna, over the Okavango Delta in Botswana. I was worried I’d be ill as I suffer from motion sickness, but I was fine and it was a wonderful experience.

        I will be very happy to visit with you. Not that I’m a cheapskate of course. πŸ˜€

  2. I enjoyed that flight very much – thank you for taking us along! The scenery is breathtaking – how amazing to see so much in 2 and a half hours. It is nice to see the Bungle Bungles which I first heard of when watching Neighbours many, many years ago and one of the characters (Helen?) often seemed to be off to the Bungle Bungles on painting expeditions.

  3. Pingback: Come Fly With Me | The Adventures of Justin Beaver

Please share your thoughts

